Design / Production

The 2018 USITT Young Designers, Managers & Technicians Awards

young designers


Eleven young technical theatre artists will receive Young Designers, Managers & Technicians (YDMT) Awards at USITT’s 58th Annual Conference & Stage Expo, March 15, 2018, at the Broward County Convention Center in Fort Lauderdale, FL. The YDMT Awards bring recognition and support to early career designers, managers, and technicians, through generous funding from industry sponsors.

YDMT winners receive free Conference registration to the four-day USITT Annual Conference & Stage Expo, March 14-17, plus cash prizes and an impressive addition to their resumes. Listed below are the winners.

Zelma H. Weisfeld Costume Design & Technology Award
Courtney Foxworthy – Indiana University

The Barbara Matera Award in Costume Making, sponsored by Judy Adamson
Erin Torkelson – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The USITT Make-up Design Award sponsored by Kryolan Professional Make-up
Destinee Steele – University of North Carolina School of the Arts

USITT W. Oren Parker Undergraduate Scene Design Award
Theron Wineinger – University of Cincinnati – College-Conservatory of Music

USITT Scene Design Award sponsored by Rose Brand
Matthew Hamel – University of Cincinnati – College-Conservatory of Music

KM Fabrics, Inc. Technical Production Award
Matt Davis – Yale School of Drama

Bernhard R. Works, Frederick A. Buerki Scenic Technology Award
Steph Waaser – Yale School of Drama

Robert E. Cohen Sound Achievement Award
Jing Zhao – Purdue University

USITT Lighting Design Award sponsored by Barbizon Lighting Company
Tori Mays – University of Arizona

USITT Stage Management Award sponsored by Clear-Com Communications Systems
Jialin He – Carnegie Mellon University

The Master Craftsmanship Award sponsored by Bernhard R. Works
Christina Curtis – University of North Carolina School of the Arts

2018 USITT Conference & Stage Expo


Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>